top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

WAP Song Backlash

Unless you live under a rock Im sure you have heard and seen the new video WAP by Cardi B and Meg The Stallion. The video was very sexy and fun and gives you appearances from a few other artist such as Normani, Mulatto, Rosalia, Sukihana and Rubi Rose, and then of course the biggest surprise appearance was from Kylie Jenner which made a lot of people upset. But that's another story today I wanted to talk about the backlash I have been seeing coming from men who feel the song isn't setting a good example for young girls. Now first let me say this, it is not any celebrities job to be a good example for your child boy or girl. It is your job. Now of course it is good to have some celebrities you can look up to but that is not what their is for. You can't depend on that especially from two young women who go by the names of Cardi B and Meg The Stallion. They don't make music for little girls. If you are looking for that I suggest you turn yourself disney radio for more age appropriate artist. When I was growing up it was around the time Lil Kim was still hot and making music and Trina was making music as well. I knew some of their songs because of the radio and BET and MTV playing the videos, but I was being raised by my mom who I looked up too and who taught me what I place I should stay in as a child. I didn't even know the explicit version of those songs or what they were talking about until I got older. Why is that? It's because it was my mom's job to raise me not Lil Kim or Trina. Now to my second point. Where is this same energy when male rappers drop songs about sex, killing people and selling drugs? Is that not a bad influence for young men? Even though I dont think it's any rappers job to be a role model I just want everyone to have the same energy. Stop bashing female rappers every time they do something and stop hating on this song it wasn't for your daughters. It's so many other things going on in the world right now let's focus on that.


13 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page