top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

Nnate's Top Ten Jay - Z songs.

Jay -Z is one of the greatest rappers of all time...actually let me correct that he is the greatest rapper of all time. Okay yeah I'm being biased or what not but what else would you expect from me? If you've been following me on social media or keeping up with my blog you know by now who my favorite rapper is. Today is his 52nd birthday and in honor of that I'm going to list my top ten songs. It's so hard to limit myself to 10 but I'm going to try my best. Happy Birthday Hov!









10. No Hook: Album American Gangster

The story telling in this song is incredible. You are following him with each line, and you can't tell me that listening to this song doesn't make you want to overcome every mistake you ever made, accept every L you ever took and go hard man.












9. A Week Ago: Album Vol 2...Hard Knock Life.

Another song showcasing his story telling ability. If you grew up in the hood then you understand why this song is so fire. The title explains itself.












8. Meet the Parents: Album The Blueprint 2 The Gift and The Curse.

Arguably one of his greatest storytelling songs. The first time I heard this song this was my face the entire time....that guy Shawn is different man.












7. Song Cry: Album The Blueprint

I know a lot of people will be shocked that this isn't number one on my list but I had to switch it up. Though this is one of the most realistic songs about a breakup ever created. The older I get the more I understand it.









6. Threat: The Black Album

Listen s/o to my older brother, he played this song in the car in the mornings when we would go to school. I wasn't into Jay as much as a kid but this song here... I just remember thinking how fire each verse was and how he broke down that he was not to be f*cked with lol.








5. Feelin' It: Album Reasonable Doubt


HE WAS FLOATING! Sorry I had to say that in all caps. A perfect rap song and he knew it. Young hungry but still cocky Jay.











4. Imaginary Players: Album In my lifetime Vol 1.


Listen, he spit nothing but facts in this song, and it's still relevant and factual in 2021.If you know you know lol.













3. Takeover: Album The Blueprint.

Sorry Nas!












2. What More Can I Say: Album The Black Album


This was almost #1 just of the strength of... "there's never been a n*gga this good for this long". He didn't lie!









Finally at number one we have.......











1. U Dont Know: Album The Blueprint

U Dont know had to top my life because no song has ever motivated me more. Any time I think about giving up this is my go to. In this song he literally manifested his goals and told you how he did that sh*t. Nothing can top this EVER.







Well this was my top ten Jay Z songs. This was EXTREMELY hard to do. Feel free to debate me on it, my mind will probably change in a few months anyway because he has way too much to only pick 10. But again Happy Birthday to the GOAT.

1,083 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page