top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

Nnate Gives Flower Monday: Kyla Pratt

That's right I'm back giving out flowers! It's been a while since I've done one of these posts so I had to make this next one very special and who is more special than the one and only Kyla Pratt. She has been gracing my tv with her talents since I was a kid, so it's only right that I give her flowers.










Kyla helped shaped my childhood and so I am so excited to go down memory lane with her roles. Now remember I'm only going to list my favorite roles, Kyla has way to deep of an Filmography for me to list all. So Let's Go!










From 1997-1998 she guest starred on the classic sitcom Smart Guy. She starred as two different characters.....


Lillie

Brandi

I loved both characters but Brandi was definitely my favorite she stayed on TJ's neck.







In 1998 she starred in Dr.Dolittle as Maya Dolittle.

This is the first role I remember seeing Kyla in as kid. She was so adorable.











In 2000 she starred in the black movie classic Love and Basketball as Young Monica Wright.

I loved her role in this, because I could relate to Monica as a kid, I was that same tomboy little girl who always wanted to compete against the guys in my neighborhood lol.







In 2001 she returned to her role as Maya Dolittle, In Dr.Dolittle 2.









In 2000 she starred on an episode of The Parkers as Shaquilla. She did such a good job in this role because I COULD NOT stand her lol.











In 2001 she starred as Brooke Baker on an episode of Lizzie Mcguire.

If you know me you know how much I loved Lizzie Mcguire growing so when she appeared on the show I was excited even though she was stealing Gordo from Lizzie lol.









From 2001-2006 she began to voice the role of the iconic Penny Proud, on the hit Disney Channel cartoon. The Proud Family.

One of the best cartoons of all time. The only cartoon on Disney Channel that black families can relate too. I still remember the first time I saw the promo for this show, and how me and all my friends made sure to be in the house on time to watch it.




From 2001–2006 she starred as Breanna Latrice Barnes on the hit UPN! sitcom One on One.

Obviously my favorite role she has played. Growing up I wanted to be Breanna so bad. I wanted her clothes, I wanted my hair like hers and her relationship with her Dad reminded of my relationship with my Dad. SN: Did yall pitch the dates? She was working on The Proud Family and One on One at the same time. A very booked and busy Queen!









In 2004 she starred as Doris in Fat Albert.

Another classic. One of my favorite comfort movies as a kid.





From 2012-2014 she starred as Crystal Whitmore on the BET series Let's stay together.

This show was hilarious and so slept on! The cast had great chemistry and to me this was around the time BET tried to create good tv content and not reality or drama shows.






In 2016 she starred in the lead role of Trish Collins on the freeform series Recovery Road.

This show only went on for one season but I enjoyed it. It was different type of role that you would usually see from Kyla. It showed her growth as an actress to me.







In 2018 she starred on an episode of Rel as Tasha.










In 2020 she starred as Dina on an episode of Insecure.






In 2020 she began to star as the lead role of the sitcom Call me Kat as Randi.





And coming soon in 2021 she will be back voicing the iconic Penny Proud in the Proud Family reboot: The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder.








And this wraps up my blog. I hope you guys enjoyed, and thank you so much to Kyla Pratt for blessings my tv for over a decade now.











27 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page