top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

My top ten songs from “ The Carter “ album.

15 years ago today Lil Wayne dropped the first album of his Carter series “ The Carter “ . I remember having to steal my older brother‘s hip CD and him catching me and being so upset but then eventually letting me have the CD. Honestly this was the first rap CD I fell in love with as a kid. Wayne sound was so different and his flow was as unmatched. In honor of the cd’s 15th year anniversary here is my top ten from the album.


10. ” Aint that a bitch “ First of all the intro alone “Because the cops is watchin the streets is talkin Ya hoes is unfaithful ya family ungreatful Ya niggas ain't loyal you niggas ain't lawyers And everybody saw you and ain't that a bitch!“ I replayed the intro so many times when I first heard this song. This song shows one of Wayne greatest abilities as a rapper, his story telling. Every time I hear this song I can imagine everything he’s rapping about.


9. “ This is the Carter “ Btw yes Im totally biased when it comes to putting this song at number 9. How can I not love a song about being a Carter when I’m a Carter myself? But in all seriousness to me this was Wayne letting the world know he was here he was growing up and he was to be taken seriously when it comes to this rap game. Thus started “ The Carter Series “.


8. “ Bring It Back

This fucking beat alone man oh my god. ( The Goat Mannie Fresh) Wayne was snapping on this track man but it was something slight it was more so something to give to radio, which it did great at and the video was cool too.


7. “ Shine

I will bet anyone who is a true Wayne fan that when you hear this song you can’t help but sing the chorus and dance. Another cool song that you have to blast on the speakers in your house or while your driving in your car in the summer time with your windows rolled down.


6. “ Go DJ

Yes I put the biggest song from the album at number 6 I love the song but it’s definitely not number one but of course the beat was fire and Wayne fucking Snapped. I remember this song being played everywhere that summer. I remember playing the song over and over again so I could learn the lyrics by heart.


5. “ The Heat

Man listen this is when I knew I was a rap head. Songs like this were the songs I always loved the most on Wayne’s albums. Idk who I thought I was but you couldn’t tell me I wasn’t a gangsta and I couldn't relate to what Wayne was talking about, and again my guy flow was unmatched and his word play.

“Twenty-two's, thirty-eight's, forty-four's, forty-five's Tucked in my thirty-eight, mack on my back I am So ready for whateva that awaits me”


4. “ Cash Money Millionaires

It was to be number four for the 1st verse alone,” I got a bitch in the back, got a ho in the front One cookin the crack, one rollin da blunt You get pussy and ass from a beautiful broad If you lookin' fa that holla at cha boy I'm a m-m-mack mack a p-p-pimp I sp-sp-sp-spit out shrimp I pull up clean I get out limp I walk like I talk like bi, bitch get chere Best playa on my team when I ball women cheer And they love the way I come out wit the gear This jacket these shoes don't come out this year So if you love ya girl don't let her come out this year If you leave her out there then she comin out here And that ain't fair but I don't care I'm a motherfuckin Cash Money Millionaire Yeah! “


3. “ On My Own

This song is still in heavy rotation for me when I need some motivational music when I’m writing or thinking of my goals. Wayne was definitely spitting some real on this track and its so relatable to anyone who has been in a position where you gotta make something happen quick and all you have is yourself to depend on because only you can see your vision.


2. “ I Miss My Dawgs “

If you were a hot boyz fan then you love this song if you ever had a close bond with someone and y’all fell off then you love this song. Wayne was being honest and vulnerable and it‘s one of his most memorable songs in his career.


1. “ BM JR “

Finally we are at number one and if you know me personally you already know this was going to be number one. TBH this is probably my favorite Lil Wayne song of all time but that’s for another blog lol. This is Wayne at his best just spitting bar after bar riding the beat no stopping and even when he does he comes right back. If you think another song on this album is better rethink it fast because it’s no song on this album better and that’s facts.


This is the end and trust I know I left some good ones off this list (Walk In especially) but I could only pick ten. The whole album is a classic, it’s the 15th year anniversary take a listen today.


12 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page