top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

My Top Ten J Cole Songs.

If you know me you know J Cole is one of my favorite rappers of all time. Now listen I have been rocking with Cole since about 09 but he became one of my favorite rappers when I seen he live for the first time back in in 2013. He did a tour where the tickets were only a dollar how can you not respect that? And the fact that he could actually put on a show, that separated him from so many other rappers to me. From that day on I was a die hard fan. Now let's fast forward to now 2019, he has 5 solo albums and a ton of mixtapes. Im going to try my my best to fit in my top 10.


Taken By Nnate Carter


  • 10 Lost Ones. Lost ones was one of the first J Cole songs that I connected too. It's from his first album Cole World: The sideline story. J Cole talked about the struggles some couples may go through after finding out that they may be having a baby. He did great story telling by the telling the guys point of view versus the girls and then used the last verse to speak his opinion on it. I feel like this song and video is so slept on and it's one of his realist.


  • 9 Kevins Heart From his latest album KOD, Cole dropped this song about the struggles men face in relationships where they really love their partner but still face issues with temptation The song idea was so genius because of the title itself, Kevin Heart is a play of words from comedian Kevin Hart who's own relationship issues with him cheating on his wife was made public. My favorite quote from the song is "Wanna have my cake and another cake too Even if the baker don't bake like you Even when the flavor don't taste like you" I know many can relate to that feeling when you may have someone you feel is perfect but you're still attracted to someone else who doesn't have the good qualities that your partner may have but you cant help but to still feel temptation.

  • 8 Dreams From his mixtape The Warm Up If you have listened to Power Trip and don't know this song Im taking your Cole World fan card. One of his best story telling songs of all time. Every time I listen to this song I swear I can picture everything he is rapping about.

  • 7 3 Wishes From his mixtape Truly Yours 2 I had to include this song in my top 10. It's of the most relatable J Cole songs to me. It reminds me of almost every child hood friend I have had and lost to getting killed in the streets or going to jail. It reminds me of going my separate ways from my friends because we had different paths but no matter what they always remain a part of me. My favorite line "The news call him a killer but he my nigga"

  • 6 Head Bussa Another track from Truly Yours 2 If you know me you know this is always my go to J cole song when Im in grind mode rather its writing or getting ready for work. Head Bussa is J cole at his best, talking about the struggles of being an artist and working hard to get your music out there and no matter how hard you may be working it seems like you're not getting anywhere and your stuck in the same place but you have bills pilling up. You have family members who you cant be there for as much as you use to because you have to put in so many hours to make your dreams come true and then your also in a relationship with a person that you cant express your fear of failing too because of previous trust issues. Man I can go on for hours talking about how much this record means to me. I also have to tell you my favorite quote from this track is "They killed Saddam, now I wonder who's sane How you balance being Batman, Bruce Wayne?"

  • 5 No Role Modelz From his third album 2014 Forest Hills Drive. Let me tell you something if you ever seen Cole live you know how hyped this gets the crowd when that First thing first rest in peace uncle Phil starts, and the way Cole talks about how some woman are shallow and are just worried about popularity or reality Tv and how some guys can tell the difference between a real chick and shallow chick.

  • 4 Villematic From his mixtape (my favorite J Cole mixtape btw) Friday Night Lights Man this song got me through my freshman days in college when I didn't want to get up for class because I was too tired or just feeling like I was losing motivation. Cole just flowed so effortlessly over this beat. You can tell he was hungry on this track as he prepared for his debut album.


  • 3 Trouble From his 2nd album Born Sinner. Now if you know me you this was hard af for me to put this track at my number three. This is a Cole classic and is so slept on to me. HE SNAPPED ON THIS TRACK PERIODT! This is Cole at his most cocky. One of my favorite lines "Yeah but I got dumb as shit hanging round these rappers cause they dumb as shit" Man listen he was talking his shit on this track and he deserved too so many people had forgot what he could do around this time before he dropped this album and he had to remind them.

  • 2. Dollar and Dream III From his First album Cole World: The sideline story. Another song with J Cole at his hungriest man, I still relate to this song everyday it feels like I have a dollar and a dream with my writing and directing. This song reminds me of how bad I want it and all the sacrifices I have made. This is Cole at his best talking about what he knows most the struggle and the grind.

This was my top ten J cole songs, when i say this list was so hard to do because I have so many more favorite songs but if I had to pick ten this would be it. I would love to get feedback on and for any other J Cole fans out there send me your top 10 as well.

43 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page