top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

My Top Ten Favorite Biggie Songs.




In honor of it being one of the best rappers of all time birthday being today. (start of gemini season) I had to do a blog post about it to honor him in some way. I was born in 1993 and didn't really get to experience Biggie while he was here but thank god for my older who put me on with his music and made me hip. In my opinion Christopher Wallace is the best storytelling rapper of all time. Dead or Alive. Every song I listen to of his it's like I can feel myself there with him. Today I decide to list "MY" personal top ten favorite songs of all time from GOAT. Here we go.



10. Notorious Thugs


This was so hard to place at the 10th spot. If I had to think of the most perfect rap feature, thi is the first song to come to mind. The beat the production, Bone thugs vocals and harmonies flowing with beat to Biggest flow and how perfect he rode the beat this song is so dope man.



9. 10 Crack Commandments

This is the first Biggie song I learned by heart on my own. Not because someone listened to it but because I gravitated towards it. I was so young but the song reminded so much of the guys I seen in my neighborhood. Once again this shows Biggie dope storytelling ability.


8. Sky's the limit

You guys when I tell you that this is the hardest list I ever had to make. This song is so motivational. It makes me think about everything I had to overcome to get where I am now. It was hard to place this song at the 8th spot but Biggie has so many classics man.


7. Juicy

This song has aged so well. It came on 26 years ago and if it came on right now in the club I guarantee every single person will stop what they are doing to dance. True definition of an hip hop classic.


6. Who Shot Ya


All bars straight flow, one of the greatest diss songs of all time that wasn't a diss. Nothing more that I need to say about this one man.


5.You're Nobody Till Somebody Kills You

I have never heard another rap song like this song, Biggie flow once again untouchable.


4. Gimme the loot

All you hear is the hungriness in this song. He wanted this shit and you could hear and feel it. I got chills listening to it if you know street men from your neighborhood who just wanted to get it by any means then you know what Im talking about.


3. Suicidal Thoughts

Man the opening line is one of the best lines in a rap song of all time. You dont get this time of storytelling and vulnerability in rap songs anymore.


2. Warning

Mannnnnn this is so iconic. One of the greatest set rap songs of all time. Does any other rapper even have a song close to this? That can get played in the clubs or radio?


1. I got a story to tell.


Yes this is my favorite Biggie song of all time. Remember this is my personal list not what songs I think are his biggest hits or best hits, just my 10 favorite. I just the story told in this song it just makes me think of one of my homeboys telling me a story of crazy night that just happened. Happy Birthday again to the one of GOAT'S Christopher Wallace.


HONORABLE MENTIONS: NIGGAS BLEED, WHATS BEEF, ONE MORE CHANCE, EVERYDAY STRUGGLE, SOMEBODY'S GOT TO DIE.

26 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page