top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

My top 30 Black Sitcoms of all time!

Black Sitcoms have been a major part of my life growing up and even know. I knew I wanted to become and writer and create my own stories because of the black sitcoms I watched growing up. I always felt like black sitcoms was one of the best ways black people were shown in a good light. They were never as cheesy as many other sitcoms that would be showing on tv. I always seen myself or my family or my friends in these shows and even though they were fiction characters they never felt that way to me. I asked my facebook friends this past weekend to give me their favorite black sitcoms of all time, and as I sat back and read their responses I thought to myself I have to write about my favorites on my blog. I couldn't do a top 5 10 or even 20. I had to do a top 30 list and this is still even hard. It's so many more shows that I have watched and been a fan of that unfortunately couldn't make the list, here are some honorable mentions The Steve Harvey Show, In The House, The Parent Hood, Cousin Skeeter, Grown-ish, Family Matter, My Wife and Kid, 227, and The Bernie Mac Show.





30. Eve (3 Seasons 2003-2006) Channel: UPN

The Eve show starred rapper Eve as she played the role of Shelly Williams a up and coming fashion designer. Though she was successful with her fashion designs and her boutique DivaStyle her love life was always in trouble. Shelly reminded me of a-lot of the older women that was in my life around this time. She was smart, had goals, and was always fly. This cast was hilarious you had (Ali Landry) as Rita Lefleur and (Natalie Desselle-Reid) as her married friend Janie Egins. You cant forgot the guys either, you have (Sean Maguire) as nightclub manager Donovan Brink and (Brian Hooks) as IRS worker Nick Dalaney. Nick & Donovan were definitely my favorite characters on the show besides Shelly they were hilarious. I still remember the first episode of Eve when JT and Shelly first met and her dress got stuck to his pants. I was hooked on this show from that moment because I wanted to see how far those two would go. Sadly due to low ratings the show ended before we got to see who Shelly decided to choose out of JT (Jason George) or Grant (Sharif Atkins).


29. Sanford & Son ( 6 seasons 1972-1977) Channel: NBC


Sanford and Son was way before my time but because of my parents I had no choice but to be hip. Redd Foxx (RIP) as Fred G. Sanford was the probably one of the best casting ever he nailed this character almost as if he wasn't even acting. Demond Wilson played his son Lamont Sanford who was always more open minded and understanding than his father except early on in the series when it came to his dad girlfriend, Donna Harris (Lynn Hamilton). Sanford and Son was enormously popular during most of its run, and was one of the top 10 highest-rated series on American television from its first season (1972) through the 1975–76 season.


28. The Jeffersons (11 Seasons 1975 -1985) Channel: CBS

The theme song alone is iconic af! The show focuses on George and Louise Jefferson,(Sherman Hemsle, Isabel Sanford RIP) who have moved from Queens to Manhattan from the success of George's dry-cleaner chain. You cant talk about The Jeffersons without talking their housekeeper Florence (Marla Gibbs), she was so sassy and hilarious and even earned her own spin off but shortly returned back to the show. The Jeffersons was one of the first black sitcoms I saw growing up that showed a successful black family and marriage and they also touched on important issues as alcoholism racism suicide gun control and being transgender.


27. Family Matters (9 Seasons 1989-1997) Channel: ABC/CBS

My brother was obsessed with Family Matters, I had no choice but to like it too. Family Matters taught us a tone of lessons about family and friends.he series originally focused on the character of police officer Carl Winslow and his family: wife Harriette, son Eddie, elder daughter Laura, and younger daughter Judy. It birthed one of the most iconic tv characters of all time Steve Urkel (Jaleel White) Just think he started out being an annoying recurring character that stole the show and became the main character.


26. Diff'rent Strokes (8 Seasons 1978-1985) Channel: NBC/ABC

The title eventually became Diff'rent Strokes, inspired by the quote "Different strokes for different folks" popularized by boxer Muhammad Ali in 1966. The sitcom starred (Gary Coleman) as Arnold Jackson and (Todd Bridges) as his older brother, Willis. They played two children from a poor section of Harlem whose deceased mother previously worked for rich widower Philip Drummond (Conrad Bain), who eventually adopted them. The show is always remember by Arnolds popular phrase " What you talkin bout Willis? "


25. Living Single (5 Seasons 1993-1998) Channel: Fox

Living Single focused on Khadijah James (Queen Latifah), a hard working editor and publisher of Flavor Magazine, and her roommates her sweet, but naive cousin, Synclaire James (Kim Cole), an aspiring actress who worked as Khadijah's receptionist and and her childhood friend Regina "Régine" Hunter (Kim Fields), an image-conscious, boutique buyer who was in a constant search for a rich man to spend her life with (and spend his money). Lets not forget Maxine "Max" Shaw (Erika Alexander), a sharp tongued attorney and Khadijah's best friend from their college days at Howard University, who was always over the house eating up all their food and of course my favorite thing attack Kyle Barker (T.C Carson) who lived across the hall with Overton Wakefield Jones (John Henton) the friendly maintenance man that later married Synclaire. Living Single was famous for showing black excellence especially with its black female cast. There were so many scenes of the four women having heart to hearts about relationships and careers, this show showed real sister hood and one of the first black sitcoms I seen growing up that inspired me to write about the bond between black women.


24. What's Happening (3 Seasons 1976-1979) Channel: ABC

I cant lie I started watching this show because of Martin Lawrence imitating rerun in one of his episodes and I wanted to know what he was talking about. What's Happening!! follows the lives of (Ernest Thomas) as Roger "Raj" Thomas, (Haywood Nelson) as Dwayne Nelson, and (Fred Berry) as Freddy "Rerun" Stubbs, and (Danielle Spencer) as Roger's younger sister my girl Dee. (Mabel King) as Roger and Dee's mother Mabel and (Shirley Hemphill) as Shirley Wilson, a waitress at Rob's Place, the neighborhood restaurant where the boys would often hang out. This show was hilarious I loved how Dee was always in Raj business and annoying him. I had the biggest crush on Dwayne ugh he was so fine.


23. Half & Half (4 Seasons 2002-2006) Channel: UPN

Half & Half was hilarious and had a very creative story line of two half sisters Mona and DeeDee and their growing relationship. Mona, the oldest sister who at first resents DeeDee because she was the one who had been living with their father while Mona lived with her mother, becoming the more level-headed one. DeeDee was spoiled and became the more fashionable, upscale, and materialistic of the two. Through the series the half-sisters grow on each other and deal with issues from the past until they can deal with each other as people in the here and now. They learn to love each other and ease into the roles they would have had if they had grown up together, and take on helping each other with work, dating, and their parents.


22. Kenan & Kel (4 Seasons 1996-2000) Channel: Nickelodeon

About two best friend's Kenan Rockmore (Kenan Thompson) and best friend Kel Kimble (Kel Mitchell), and their daily lives of getting in trouble and getting out of trouble and lets not forget Kel love The show originally aired on the Nickelodeon network for four seasons, from August 17, 1996 to May 3, 2000. The show features Kenan's family, which consists of his father Roger (Ken Foree, mother Sheryl (Teal Marchande), and younger sister Kyra (Vanessa Baden). The show also features Kenan's boss Chris Potter (Dan Frischman).


21. All of Us (4 Seasons 2003 – May 14, 2007) Channel : UPN/CW

This was my show man. I thought it had a very unique story line especially and it felt to finally see a show about a black blended family. The show revolved around Robert James (Duane Martin) a divorced TV entertainment reporter with a young son, Robert "Bobby" James, Jr. (Khamani Griffin), and his fiancée, Tia Jewel (Elise Neal), a kindergarten teacher who helped him through the breakup of his first marriage. Robert shares custody of his son with his ex-wife Neesee (LisaRaye McCoy), with whom he shares a tenuously friendly relationship for the sake of their son. Throughout the series Robert always finds himself in difficult situations, attempting to maintain the peace, however uneasy, between his ex-wife and his fiancée. Friends of the couple included Dirk Black (Tony Rock), Robert's single best friend and producer, and Tia's best friend and fellow teacher Jonelle Abrahams (Terri J. Vaughn)


20. House Of Payne (8 Seasons 2007 – August 10, 2012) Channel: TBS

Tyler Perry's House of Payne is an American sitcom television series created and produced by Tyler Perry. The show revolves around a multi-generational family living under one roof in Atlanta. While primarily a comedy sitcom, House of Payne was known for featuring dark themes and subject matter, such as substance abuse and addiction. To me this show was the perfect blend of The Cosby show and Martin somewhat, because one minute you're dying of laughter and then the next you're learning about family issues.


19. The Famous Jett Jackson (3 Seasons 1998 –2001) Channel: Disney Channel

One of the most underrated Disney Channel shows of all time. I was obsessed with this show and the movie and I still am. The show is about a boy named Jett Jackson (Lee Thompson Young) who plays a teenage secret agent on a fictional TV show within a show called Silverstone. It was one of the first show's I remember growing up that was a kid show and had a black family and black cast that I could relate to.


18. The Wayans Bros (5 Seasons 1995 –1999) Channel: The WB

Shawn and Marlon Williams (Shawn Wayans and Marlon Wayans) are brothers who live in an apartment on 117th street in Harlem. Shawn owned newsstand, where he and his brother Marlon work on a daily basis. In the show's second season the newsstand and Pops' Joint, the restaurant owned by their father, John "Pops" Williams (John Witherspoon) were moved downtown into the fictional Neidermeyer Building, where Dee Baxter (Anna Maria Horsford) (onwards from Season 2) works as a security guard. If a need a laugh I know I can turn on any episode and it will make me laugh. Plus they gave us one of the most iconic tv theme songs ever.


17. The Jamie Foxx Show (5 Seasons 1996-2001) Channel: The WB.

The Jamie Foxx Show aired from August 28, 1996, to January 14, 2001 on the WB. The series stars Jamie Foxx, Garcelle Beauvais, Christopher B. Duncan, Ellia English and Garrett Morris.

Although the show was not a major success with the ratings this was one of the funniest sitcoms ever. This is the funniest I have ever seen Jamie Foxx even to this day. Plus I could never forget one of my favorite moments is when Jamie and Fancy finally get married and he sang his own song "The wedding song".


16. One on One (5 Seasons 2001–2006) Channel:UPN

The series stars Flex Alexander as a single sportscaster, who becomes a full-time dad when his ex-wife decides to accept a job out of the country and his teenaged daughter Breanna (Kyla Pratt) moves in with him. The series was based in Baltimore for the first four seasons before changing settings to Los Angeles for the final season. I loved this show so much Breanna and Flex had the best relationship and were hilarious together. I also loved the on again and off again relationship between Arnaz and Breanna. I hate that they don't end up with each other. I mis this show so much.


15. Smart Guy (3 Seasons 1997 –1999) Channel: The WB

Smart Guy is an American sitcom centering on the exploits of kid genius T.J. Henderson (Tahj Mowry), who moves from being an elementary school student in the fourth grade to a high school student in the tenth grade, attending the same school as his two elder siblings Yvette and Marcus. I feel like this should be higher on my list but its so many great black sitcoms and its hard. I love the show as I still watch the reruns daily. We honestly don't talk about how great of a father Floyd Henderson was. Growing up he was one of the single black fathers I seen on tv raising a family and doing a wonderful job. I cant believe this show only had 51 episodes it deserved so much more.


14. Moesha (6 Seasons 1996 –2001) Channel: UPN

The series stars R&B singer Brandy Norwood as Moesha Denise Mitchell, a high school student living with her family in the Leimert Park neighborhood of Los Angeles. The show dealt with real teen social issues such as teen pregnancy, drug use, race relations, premarital sex, the death of a parent, and day-to-day issues teenagers faced at home and school. One of the first shows that I watched growing up that related to somethings that I seen growing up in my own life. Thats why I loved Moesha they were never afraid to be real especially. I learned so much from this show and the theme song alone is still iconic to this day!


13. The Parkers (5 Seasons 1999 –2004) Channel:UPN

A spin off from Moesha, The Parkers centers around a mother and daughter who both attend Santa Monica College. Nikki Parker was forced to drop out of high school when she discovered she was pregnant with daughter Kim. After Kim reaches adulthood, Nikki decides to go back to school. Kim is initially mortified with this decision, but eventually accepts the situation. Nikki and Kim's mother-daughter relationship evolves as roommates and as students. Nikki adjusts to the fact that her daughter is old enough to live on her own, while Kim realizes that Nikki has more going on than just being her mom. The best mother and daughter duo on tv. They were perfect together and this show was hilarious. I still can watch it anytime now and laugh like I just seen the episode for the first time.


11. Everybody Hates Chris (4 Seasons 2005 –2009) Channel: UPN and The CW

First off let me start off by saying Im so disappointed and hurt that this isn't real stories and events of Chris Rock's life growing up, but I still love the show anyway. You have a very realistic black family. Usually on tv if a black family isn't rich they will try to portray them as ghetto but not with this family they were all smart they had rules and structure they taught their children great lessons and made sure every night they all sat and ate with each other at the dinner table. I will forever love this show.


10. Good Times (6 Seasons 1974 –1979) Channel: CBS

I wasn't born when this show originally aired on tv but because of my mom I watched all of the reruns. Our first black family on tv and they did us justice (well at least the seasons with James Evans). We cried we laughed we hoped and prayed with The Evans family. You were hoping for the day they finally made it out of the ghetto.


9. The Proud Family (2 Seasons 2001 –2005) Channel: Disney Channel

IM SO HAPPY THIS SHOW IS COMING BACK ON DISNEY+. Another show from my childhood that has taught me so many lessons while still being so comical. The Proud Family had episodes that taught you about family, friendships, black history, how to deal with insecurities and different race and religions. It's not too many children show's let alone cartoons that have done this even now in 2019.


8. Thats So Raven (4 Seasons 2003 –2007) Channel: Disney Channel

I love the show so freaking much. Another show I continue to watch now. That's So Raven was hilarious and talked about s many important topics like, racism, body shaming and anorexia, smoking and so much more. I remember waiting every Friday for the newest episode and wanting all of Raven's clothes. I remember being so heart broken when Devon had to move away and she tried to stop his dad's wedding lol. I just love this show so much.


7. Sister Sister (6 Seasons 1994 –1999) Channel: ABC and The WB

I loveeee this show and everything about it. There isn't a bad season or episode. Sister Sister was the perfect representation of positive black girls growing up. They never got into any serious trouble and when they did get boyfriends in the later seasons it happened naturally they didn't force them to be grown or sneak around. This show is just so positive and also very funny. I feel like Sister Sister deserves so much more credit than it gets.


6. Girlfriends (8 Seasons 2000 –2008) Channel: UPN and The CW

A show I grew up watching for laughs but now as a woman I relate so much to this show and I have learned so much from each of these woman. Girlfriends deserves the appropriate ending and movie that was taken from them the first time this show aired.


5. Black-ish (5 Seasons 2014 –present) Channel: ABC

Our generations Cosby Show. This is only positive black sitcom we have on tv right now. It touches on issues going on in the world right now. It's the one black show on tv right now that's not about selling drugs killing people or drama. WE NEED more black tv shows like Black-ish on air right now.


4. A Different World (6 Seasons 1987 –1993) Channel: NBC

This show is the reason I wanted to go to college and also inspired my first tv script. It was the perfect spin off from the Cosby show because it touched on topics that the Cosby show was afraid too. Besides season one this show was amazing and I need it in my dvd collection. lol


3. The Fresh Prince Of Bel Air (6 Seasons 1990 –1996) Channel:NBC

The only complaint I have about this show is when they switched aunt viv lol. Im sorry but everyone knows who the GOAT aunt viv was, but besides that Fresh Prince was amazing this show will make you laugh in the same episode thanks to the amazing Will Smith.


2. Martin (5 Seasons 1992 –1997) Channel: Fox

Honestly if this was just my personal lists Martin is number one. If you know me personally you know Martin is my favorite show of all time. This is so damn funny it literally can brighten my day when Im down. I promise I quote Martin a millions times a day during any regular conversation Im happy. Besides Martin and Gina's relationship this isn't really about anything but Martin doing something crazy and we need shows like this just to make us laugh and take it easy.


1. The Cosby Show (8 Seasons 1984 –1992) Channel:NBC

Of course this was going to be number one. Like you cant even talk to me about black sitcoms and not include The Cosby Show. There has not been a better black sitcom. The Huxtables are one of the most known television families of all time even to this day and this show has been over for more than a decade. The Cosby Show was hilarious and showed black people at a very positive light in the world, there will never be another black sitcom as iconic as this one.

32 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page