top of page
Writer's pictureNnate Carter

Keyshia Cole The Way It Is Album Turns 16.

Today in 2005 Keyshia Cole released her debut album: The Way It Is. The Way It Is received generally positive reviews from music critics, who praised Cole's vocals and musical themes and compared them to the likes of fellow female R&B singer Mary J Blige. The album enjoyed commercial success and launched Cole's career in R&B music, selling 89,000 units in its first week, while becoming one of the ten biggest-selling R&B/Hip-Hop albums of the year. In the United States, it stayed on Billboards Top R&B/Hip Hop chart for eighty-four weeks, and was certified gold by the RIAA within seventeen weeks, and then platinum only eight weeks later.


I remember when I first heard this album. I honestly did feel like she was my generations MJB. I felt the pain in every song even though at that time I was only about 12 years old so I haven’t even began to understand the pain of break up or heartache you couldn’t tell me nothing.



The entire album doesn’t have any skips but my top 5 from that album are…..


1.Love

2.Superstar

3. We Could Be

4. You’ve Changed

5. Thought you had my back




6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page